AGM: changes at the club

The AGM saw Maureen Kershaw step down after many years of hard work as club chairwoman. The club showed its appreciation by presenting her with a specially commissioned glass sculpture from Arreton Barns. Although Maureen has handed on the responsibility as chairwoman, she will still be seen at the rink for skating tests in her capacity as the Island’s NISA representative.Elections for the posts of chair, vice-chair, secretary and treasurer were uncontested: Karen Bicknell is chairwoman, Janet Marsh vice-chairwoman, Chris Wilmott secretary and Sarah Danzig treasurer. Ordinary committee members are Sarah England, Wendy Fishel, Sue Orme, Andy Pegram and Carol Taverner. Ian Marsh (the webmaster) was co-opted to fill the 10th committee place.

Annual subscriptions were discussed, and details will be circulate shortly in time for the new membership year, which starts on 1 June. Not everyone knows that club membership ensures that skaters are insured for taking part in club events such as shows – and with three IOW skaters suffering scaphoid fractures last year, insurance certainly has proved its worth.

Also under discussion were some new initiatives for the club, the results of which should become apparent in the coming months.

Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.